Enraptured in The Rapture

My parents had this postcard in their leather-bound Bible back when I was a doe-eyed Pentecostal kid.  I gawked at this thing during the entire service placing myself in any one of these modes of death to rise up all zombie-like and fly into the heaven with Jesus.  While most children were worried with such trivial matters of who to play with at Sunday School, I was secretly shitting in my pants at the thought of my plane flying into the side of a building.

To this day I am afraid of large trucks and many years ago when my little Honda got slammed around by one all I could scream out was, “For the love of God, please don’t put me in that postcard.”

One thought on “Enraptured in The Rapture

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

